DEDICATED poppy appeal collectors and the town's air and army cadets were honoured at a presentation evening by Okehampton's branch of the Royal British Legion at the end of last month.

Organised by the Okehampton Royal British Legion, the event on November 27 brought together cadets, instructors, families and friends.

The DVD 'Okehampton Remembers' was projected during the evening, and Okehampton Community Archive's display of the servicemen from the town who died during the Great War was on display.

Awards were presented to poppy appeal collectors, including the incredibly dedicated Valerie Hawking of Honeychurch, who has been a poppy appeal collector for 50 years.

Other awards ranged from 45 years to five years.

Branch secretary Peter Williams said: 'Their work is vital if the Legion is to continue providing support for serving servicemen and women, veterans and their dependants.'

At a special parade held during the 2014 May Fair, the Okehampton Army Cadet Force and Air Training Corps detachments were affiliated to the Okehampton Branch of the Royal British Legion.

To finalise this union, branch president Colonel Charles Pyman presented the certificate of affiliation and a framed souvenir photograph to each detachment commander.

Colonel Pyman hoped that this affiliation would lead to a close co-operation, stressing the importance of involving the younger generation for the viable continuation of the Royal British Legion and its valuable work.

Peter Williams said: 'The enthusiasm of the cadets was impressive; a clear indication of the high standards set by the adult instructors and keenly pursued by the cadets themselves.'

Annual subscriptions are now due to be paid. Okehampton members are urged to renew their membership as soon as possible and by no later than mid-January. Any queries should be addressed to the branch secretary on 01837 840757.

The poppy collectors who were honoured are: 50 years, Valerie Hawking of Honeychurch; 45 years, Pat Martin of Lydford, Margaret Cox of Okehampton, Mrs G. Lower of Okehampton; 40 years, Iris Quinn of Okehampton, Les Beer of Sampford Courtenay, George Heathman of Bridestowe; 35 years, Jean Williams of Okehampton; 25 years, Chris Youlden of Okehampton; 20 years, Alan Horn of Okehampton, Mr JT Thomas of Okehampton; 15 years, Alson Rounsley of Okehampton; five years, Mrs B Pearce of Monkokehampton, Steve Powne of Lydford, Cliff Pantrey of Okehampon, Dennis Russell of Okehampton, Mrs Nick Petts of Lydford, Rosemary Lowe of Sampford Courtenay, John Mills of Okehampton, Mr James Singer and Lyn Singer of Okehampton, Angela Hammond of Belstone, Charlotte Hoar of Okehampton, Mr and Mrs Alan McQueen of Okehampton, Dave Seymour of Sourton, Ben Stephens of Okehampton, Ashley Milton and Barbara Milton of Okehampton, Mr and Mrs Jones of Okehampton.