Devon C Chagford v Ipplepen AFTER a poor start to the season, Chagford played well to defeat league leaders Ipplepen by five wickets in an exciting contest. Ipplepen batted first and made a steady start against the accurate Chagford opening attack of Del Lammonby and Jon Wright. It was the introduction of Jake Griffiths that brought results as he dismissed Matt Nicholls for 18 and trapped Adam Peters lbw first ball for a duck;  Dave Harris soon followed for four, and then Griffiths removed Jack Lewis for 27 to leave Ipplepen at 84-4. However, Joe Abbott batted effortlessly and made useful stands with Sam Wakeham 18 and Matt Quartley 19 to take the visitors to 141-8.   Abbot was joined by Paul Thomas and together they threatened to take the game away from Chagford, as in quick time they advanced the score to 187 in a quick fire partnership of 46 before Abbott was finally out for an excellent half century, and Ipplepen finished on 188-9.    Jake Griffiths 3-33 was the main wicket taker but it was Neil Rowlands  with 2-20 in his nine accurate overs that slowed the Ipplepen scoring rate.         Paul Penberthy and Stuart Lord batted well against the excellent Ipplepen opening attack with overseas pro  Caleb Gaylard bowling at express pace,  but were able to put on an opening partnership of 46 before Lord went for 20. Penberthy soon followed for 19 but this brought together in form Chagford batsmen Divan Marais and Jon Wright, who started slowly and gained in momentum with a stand of 101 taking the score 157 before Marais was bowled by Garlard.  Lethern, 9, and Manners-Chapman 10 followed, but Jon Wright hit the winning runs to give Chagford victory by five wickets.  Wright finished on a splendid 56 not out. Gaylard was the pick of the visitors' bowlers taking 2-37.